Skip to content

How it’s done…

January 7, 2016

Author Donald Hounam reflects on the difficulties of getting to grips with publicising your book.

Donald Hounam

So it’s four weeks today until my next book, Pariah, is published and… well, at least this time I’m doing something about it.

A year ago, When my first Frank Sampson story, Gifted, came out, I jumped on to Twitter with the grown-ups and waved my arms about. After an hour or so, though, everybody got bored and went back to bed or, in my case, out to lunch…

My assumption was that, somehow, the world would find its way to my book. I was wrong. My publishers had got a few book bloggers to review Gifted, and I did a few guest blog posts; but that was about it.

My problem is, I’m spectacularly bad at self-promotion. I am of a naturally shy and retiring disposition, and was brought up to believe that any attempt to big oneself up was bad form. I still retain a sort…

View original post 301 more words

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

